In which Emerson promises to dress like a reindeer

Me: Hey Emerson, are you ready for tomorrow?

Emerson: I don’t know. What’s tomorrow? Do I have to take a bath? If so, then NO I am not ready.

Me: No bath, I promise. Tomorrow is the Jingle Bell run/walk for Arthritis. We’re walking a 5K to help raise money for the Arthritis Foundation. I bought this reindeer hat and jingle bell collar for you to wear tomorrow.[*picture below]

Emerson: That is a very silly hat. I am not wearing that in public.

Me: Yes it is silly, but that’s part of the fun! This is a very important cause for me because several of my loved ones have arthritis. Our goal is to raise $150 towards our team’s fund.

Emerson: That’s a lot of money!

Me: It’s a lot of money for one person, but if everyone I know contributes a few dollars, then we can raise that money in no time! All they have to do is click on this link, then click on the “General team donation” link, then follow the instructions on the screen to donate.

Emerson: That doesn’t sound too hard, as long as they have opposable thumbs. And a bank account. With money in it. I don’t have any of those things so I can’t donate money. But if we can raise $150, then I will let you post a picture of me wearing that silly reindeer hat.

Me: It’s a deal!

**If you want to see Emerson wearing this hat, please click on the picture to donate to my team. Be sure to use the “General Team donation” link so Emerson knows when we reach our goal!

I'm sorry that you can't see this picture. Just trust me that it is a very silly hat.

It was between this and a Santa hat with a beard, but since Emerson is already roughly the size of a small reindeer, I decided this was the obvious choice.

One response

  1. […] However, tomorrow I will be doing at least three of the above-named things (possibly all four) when my dog Emerson and I walk a 5K to help raise money for the Arthritis Foundation. In the spirit of the event, I wrote this conversation with my dog: In which Emerson promises to dress like a reindeer. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

