Separation Anxiety

[Editor’s note: This is a series of conversations I wrote on my other blog last summer, when I brought Selby to work at the groomer’s with me.]

Customer:  Good morning! I’ve brought my dog in for his haircut.

Shih Tzu: OMG DAD PLEASE DON’T MAKE ME GO IN THERE! I HATE THE GROOMER!

Customer: It’s ok, they’ll get you all cleaned up so you won’t be so hot anymore!

Shih Tzu: Ok fine, I’ll go in.

Selby: WOW it’s another dog! I haven’t seen another dog since Scouty and Bandit came in 5 minutes ago! HI LITTLE DOG!!

Shih Tzu: Um… hi. You’re weird.

Customer: Ok, I’ll see you later!

Shih Tzu: Wait a minute… where are you going? OMG DAD PLEASE DON’T LEAVE ME HERE ALL ALONE WITH THIS WEIRD DOG!! DAD! DAD! DAD! DAD! DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD [Customer leaves] Oh is he gone?

Me: Yes, he just left.

Shih Tzu: Oh, thank goodness I can stop barking and scratching at the door now.

Me: If you don’t mind being here, why did you make such a big deal about it?

Shih Tzu: Well, how else will he know I love him if I don’t make a huge fuss about him leaving me?

Leave a Reply

